Home Bhulan Challenge

bhulan challenge

Bhulan Challenge

A film project presented by
Kevin Sempé & Christophe Chellapermal

Below the mist, gently hovering over the waters of a Nepali river, a ripple reveals the presence of the rare and elusive "Bhulan" dolphin With less than 3000 dolphins in the wild the dolphin is highly endangered.

Illustration - 1894 Royal Natural History. Vol 3

What is the Ganges River Dolphin or Platanista?

Through stories and timeless legends, “Bhulan” - neither a god, nor a prince, nor a man or a woman - everything about this animal is exotic.

A unique profile with its long beak, its origins as well as its tragic history...

Somewhere between the magic of India and Tibetan mysticism, this mammal is found in multiple cultures and folklore acrossNepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Bhutan.

The origin of the project.

A journey into a unique environment, a mineral desert lost in the middle of the jungle in Nepal… The desire to discover this unique mammal was sparked when Christophe and Kevin met and realized they shared a taste for discovery and exploration. They will seek to encounter “bhulan” to collect never before seen underwater footage and attempt to understand how the mammal evolved to cope with its changing environment and what is needed to protect this once sacred creature.

In collaboration with WWF, accompanied by the few specialists in the field, this mission is made up of a small team who will go to this remote region for a first exploration to produce underwater, land and aerial images, in order to capture as much information as possible.

This animal has never been approached by divers in its natural habitat and no underwater footage has ever been recorded.

A quest

The Ganges dolphin is a timid and fearful mammal, usually keeping a distance from humans, but very occasionally approaching fishermen on the river. Locating and approaching the animal will be a complex and time-consuming task requiring the patience and high skill of the team to capture photographic evidence of the mammal in its natural habitat. The Ganges dolphin lives with other aquatic species such as the Gharial crocodile which, although also highly threatened with extinction, has a protected status in national parks, mandated by the government and under the supervision from WWF. We will also document this distant cousin, victim of similar issues.

Scientific purpose

These images will provide researchers with important data, including identification of specimens as well as recording behaviors that were not previously observed.

Very little is known about this dolphin, no data exists on its behavior or social habits with other dolphins, animals or humans.

A film in development.

A mini-film will be produced following this field trip. The objective of this film will be to present this rare animal, in its environment, as well as the other animals sharing its biotope. The film will also present the threats that lead to the extinction of this animal as well as how it coexists with humans in this pristine and isolated region of Nepal.

Communication

During the journey, the team will encounter incredible wild landscapes and local characters. We will share our quest as well as our passion and love for wildlife via stories on social media.

The two members of the challenge have respective partners who will share their publications as well as the mini-film. Articles and podcasts will be updated on Scuba-People and will be shared on social media.

members of the technical team

Kevin Sempé - Director and writer

Leonard Prêtre - Second Camera Operator

Christophe Chellapermal - Photojournalist and co-author

kevin sempe

Kevin Sempé

Director and videographer

Kevin Sempé is a director and DOP specialized in underwater imagery. He is in seeking adventure and exploration in searchof great stories, to tell through documentaries. He works with major brands and productions and collaborates on many projects around the world. From deep diving to the jungle and many other remote places, Kevin uses his expertise in RED Camera ecosystem and rebreather diving to bring untold stories to life. Kevin is also developing his underwater expertise in cinema, short films and television. He directs and presents his own series of diving around stories of wrecks for French television

christophe chellapermal

Christophe Chellapermal

Photographer and journalist

Christophe grew up in Dubai in the United Arab Emirates, he began diving at the age of XNUMX in the Mediterranean Sea, in Cap d'Antibes. In XNUMX, he graduated as a Padi instructor in Mexico where he experienced his first CCR dive on a dolphin. After several years of studies in shipbuilding and tourism, he opened his first diving center in Oman in the Strait of Hormuz. Over more than XNUMX years in the diving industry, he acquired a great experience in management and diving, which allowed him to become an instructor trainer with Iantd, instructor Tek and ccr with TDI and a Padistaff instructor. Lately, he rediscovered one of his first passions, photography. After turning the page on Nomad Ocean Adventure, he is now an award-winning photographer and photojournalist. In addition to contributing to various media, he is also the editor and director of scuba-people.com magazine

Our partners

Accueil Bhulan Challenge

bhulan challenge

Bhulan Challenge

Un projet de film présenté par
Kevin Sempé & Christophe Chellapermal

Au-delà de la brume planant doucement sur les eaux d’une rivière au Népal, une petite ondulation révèle la présence du rare et insaisissable dauphin « Bhulan ». Malheureusement, l’activité humaine et la pollution menacent la survie de ce mammifère timide, laissant moins de 3000 dauphins à l’état sauvage.

Illustration - 1894 Royal Natural History. Vol 3

Qui est le Dauphin ou Plataniste du Gange ?

À travers les histoires et les légende intemporelles, « Bhulan » — ni un dieu, ni un prince, ni un homme ou une femme — ce mammifère a marqué la culture de cette région du monde.

Tout dans cet animal est exotique. Son profil unique avec son long bec, ses origines et son histoire tragique, son intégration dans les mythes et les cultures…

Entre magie de l’Inde éternelle et mysticisme Tibétain mais aussi au Népal, au Bangladesh, au Pakistan ou au Bhoutan, ce mammifère aquatique ne connaît pas de frontières.

L’origine du projet.

Un voyage initiatique dans un environnement singulier, un désert minéral perdu au milieu de la jungle, au Népal… L’envie de découvrir ce mammifère singulier est née de la rencontre de Christophe et Kevin et de leurs goût pour la découverte et l’exploration. Ils vont chercher, grâce à des rencontres et à une collecte d’images, à comprendre comment celui-ci a évolué pour faire face à son environnement changeant et comprendre ce qui est nécessaire pour protéger cette créature autrefois sacrée.

En collaboration avec WWF, accompagné par les rares spécialistes en la matière, cette mission est composée d’une équipe réduite qui se rendra dans cette région éloignée pour un premier repérage, en vue de réaliser des images sous-marines, terrestres et aériennes inédites, afin d’emmagasiner autant d’informations que possible.

Cet animal n’a jamais été approché par des plongeurs dans son habitat naturel et aucune séquence sous-marine n’a jamais été enregistrée.

Une quête

Le dauphin du Gange est un mammifère timide et craintif, se tenant généralement à distance des humains, mais qui s’approche très occasionnellement des pêcheurs sur la rivière. Localiser et approcher l’animal sera une tâche complexe et chronophage exigeant de la patience et les compétences élevées de l’équipe pour capturer des preuves photographiques du mammifère dans son habitat naturel. Le dauphin du Gange vit avec d’autres espèces aquatiques comme le crocodile de Gharial qui, bien qu’également fortement menacé d’extinction, dispose, lui, d’un statut protégé dans les parcs nationaux, mandaté par le gouvernement et sous la supervision du WWF. Nous documenterons aussi ce cousin éloigné, victime des même problématiques.

Intérêt scientifique

Ces images fourniront aux chercheurs des données importantes, comprenant le recensement et l’enregistrement de comportements qui n’étaient pas disponibles auparavant.

On sait très peu de choses sur ce dauphin, aucune donnée n’existe sur son comportement ou ses habitudes sociales avec d’autres dauphins, animaux ou humains.

Un premier tournage, un film en développement.

Un mini-film sera produit suite à cette expédition. L’objectif de ce film sera de présenter cet animal rare, dans son environnement, ainsi que les autres animaux partageant son biotope. Le film présentera également les menaces qui entraînent l’extinction de cet animal ainsi que la façon dont il cohabite avec les humains dans cette région vierge et isolée du Népal, à l’inverse de sa situation en Inde.

Communication

Au cours de son voyage, l’équipe rencontrera d’incroyables paysages sauvages et des personnages locaux. Ces histoires seront partagées via les réseaux sociaux.

Les deux membres du Challenge ont des partenaires respectifs qui partageront également leurs publications ainsi que le mini-film. Des articles et des podcasts seront des mises à jour sur Scuba-People et seront partagés sur les réseaux sociaux.

les membres de l’équipe technique

Kevin Sempé – Réalisateur et auteur

Leonard Prêtre – Opérateur seconde caméra

Christophe Chellapermal – Photojournaliste et co-auteur

kevin sempe

Kevin Sempé

Réalisateur et vidéaste

Kevin Sempé est réalisateur et Directeur de photographie spécialisé en imagerie sous-marine. Cet aventurier en quête d’exploration est à la recherche de belles histoires, pour réaliser des documentaires. Il travaille pour de grandes marques et productions et collabore sur de nombreux projets à travers le monde. De la plongée profonde à la jungle et à des endroits éloignés et exotique, Kevin utilise son expertise dans l’écosystème de la caméra RED et la plongée en recycleur pour donner vie à des récits inconnues. Kevin également développé une expertise sous-marine dans le cinéma, les courts métrages et la télévision. Il dirige et présente sa propre série de plongées autour d’histoires d’épaves pour la télévision française

christophe chellapermal

Christophe Chellapermal

Photographe et journaliste

Christophe a grandi à Dubaï dans les Emirats Arabes Unis, mais s’initie à la plongée à l’âge de 12 ans en Mer Méditerranée, au Cap d’Antibes. En 1998, il passe son diplôme de moniteur Padi au Mexique où il expérimente sa première plongée en CCR sur un dolphin.
Après plusieurs années d’études en construction navale et en tourisme, il ouvre son premier centre de plongée à Oman dans le Détroit d’Hormuz. Pendant plus de 15 ans d’activité, il y acquiert une grande expérience en management et en plongée , ce qui lui permis de devenir instructeur trainer chez Iantd, moniteur Tek et ccr chez TDI et staff instructeur chez Padi. Il redécouvre durant ces années une de ces première passion, la photo. Après avoir tourné la page de Nomad Ocean Adventure. Photographe primé et photojournaliste, il décide de reprendre le magazine Scuba People. En plus de contribuer a divers media. Il est également le rédacteur en chef et le directeur du magazine scuba-people.com.

Nos partenaires